Wednesday, 25th April 2018


The appointment of Honorary Consuls in Malta can be traced back to the 19th Century.  However it was only in 1995, that a group of serving Honorary Consuls got together and decided to set up the Association of Honorary Consuls.

This Association was formally established on the 29th March 1995, and the first Council of this Association was elected on the  6th November 1995.

During the past years, all Honorary Consuls General, Honorary Consuls and Honorary Vice Consuls accredited to Malta have joined the Association as Members.

The first President of the Association was Mr John A. Gauci Maistre, Honorary Consul General of Panama.  He has held the post uninterruptedly up to 2011.

In 2005 the name of the Association was changed to that of The Honorary Consular Corps, and the post of President was replaced by that of Dean.

Since its establishment, the Honorary Consular Corps has organised several events and participated in many activities of a social and humanitarian nature.

In 2011 Mr Godwin E. Bencini, Honorary Consul of the Slovak Republic, was elected to the post of Dean for the period 2011/2013


pdf Vienna Convention on Consular Relations